Does God even care? Does y=1/3x-51/3

Does God even care? How many times have you asked that question to yourself?

Sometimes it feels like God is not with us and we are all alone going through this world. That God doesn’t even care.  But no matter what we “Feel” like, His children are given a promise in 1 Peter 5:6-7 to “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so at the proper time, he may exalt you, casting all your cares upon him, because he cares for you.”

So many times I am guilty of forgetting that God really does care about my life, and I fail to humble myself in his sight, casting everything upon him. I am so caught up in believing I can do it on my own, in my own strength, but Christ wants us to involve Him in everything, no matter how small, because he does care for us. If we are to do everything for the Glory of God (1 Cor 10:31), then He must help us. I learned this in a unique way this past week.

Before I say anything more, you have to understand a little more about me. I am not a person that excels in math, let alone Algebra. For me, finding X has been as simple as pointing to the letter on the page. Simple right. Well, it turns out that X is actually supposed to represent a number. A variable that could help your brother’s kite soar into the air, a plane make it’s way across the sky, or cause your car crash into that telephone pole you pass everyday on your way to work. Simple? Well, not really.

Let’s just say my relationship with algebra is…….well…..for lack of better words, difficult. However, the more equations I labored through, the more I came to understand and enjoy it. Yeah, imagine me ENJOYING algebra! But once you understand the concepts, and you have done it several times, it starts to click.

So anyway, here is what I learned. There were many times that I just wanted to through up my hands and quit. “This is just to hard”, and “I am not even going to use this in the future!”, I would say to myself. But instead I would cry out to God for help, and guess what…………..He did. Yeah, God even cares about Algebra, and do you know why? Because he created it’s complexity and he takes joy in us enjoying it. It is very much a part of our everyday life, yet we don’t realize it. I am amazed and humbled that God would care to help me with something as seemingly simple as Algebra. I would not remember how to solve an equation, and then I would ask God for help, and then He would remind me of the formula or steps to take  to solve it. I give all Glory and Praise to God for helping me finish my College Algebra course!

So my encouragement to you is to keep pushing forward. Even when your life, situation, circumstances, relationships, look like the variable X and you can’t seem to figure them out, and you wonder if God really cares. Put aside your pride, humble yourself before God, confessing your dependence upon Him, and ask for His help. Even for the little things.

About Nathan Hamilton

I am a home schooled, high school graduate, and a graduate from Thomas Edison State College in General Business Management, working at CollegePlus! I love my wife, being a husband, being around people, reading, volleyball, golf, ultimate frisbee, traveling, working, eating healthy, exercising, my Mac, and learning new things. My relationship with Jesus Christ, is the most important relationship I have. He is the one who gives me strength to live every day, and grace to make it through various trials and tribulations. Remember that knowledge of Christ is Good, Belief in Christ is better, but only a relationship with Jesus Christ will save you. View all posts by Nathan Hamilton

Leave a Reply

